10 Things I Have Learned From Beauty + Makeup

download (13)

Happy Friday everyone! I have a crazy weekend ahead of me so I might be missing for a few days because my cousin is getting married! And I am in the wedding so it’s gonna be an awesome weekend. What are your weekend plans?

Taking inspiration from Ana, here are some of the tips I have learned (some the hard way) from beauty and makeup. Check out her post as well, it has some amazing tips too!

  1. Contouring isn’t necessary every single day. It took me literally forever to learn the difference between bronzing and contouring. Bronzing is leaps and bounds better for a chill day because it’s not so dramatic, at least in my opinion.
  2. Winged eyeliner will never match and be perfect. EVER.
  3. Good skincare = good makeup. Having a good skincare routine will improve your makeup and how it turns out because if your skin is nice, your makeup will apply better and overall everything will be nicer! Less breakouts, smooth soft skin…etc.
  4. Finding the perfect nude lip color for you will be a life saver. This color will definitely be a staple in your everyday makeup routine!
  5. Trying new things is fun! Don’t just use the same palette and do the same look everyday. I’ve learned all about what colors look good together and what don’t as well as how create more from less because of beauty and makeup. It has really pushed me to be a more creative person. Dare to do that smokey eye or dry that purple lipstick. You never know. You may end up loving it!
  6. Less is more. And by this I mean product. Don’t fully load your eyeshadow brush for everything you do. This wastes product and can make things messy. This also applies to things like foundation and concealer. Less is more usually!
  7. Hype isn’t always true. This is such a big thing! A product one person may rave about may be total crap to you. We are all different with different needs and different likes.
  8. EXFOLIATION. No explanation needed.
  9. The internet is full of lots of places to be inspired. When I’ve run out of ideas or I’m not feeling creative I head on over to the YouTubes and watch some of my favorite beauty gurus. Or I scroll through my bloglovin homepage. There are so many places to look for and take inspiration from and to learn from to make yourself better at whatever thing you are doing.
  10. Beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder. Do what you love and what makes you feel beautiful. If someone else doesn’t like it that’s fine because they aren’t wearing it. If a full face of makeup makes you feel good DO IT! If simple “no makeup” makeup is your thing, you better rock it.

I hope you all have enjoyed this post! What are some things you have learned from beauty?

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

With love, 

Michaela 

Disclaimer: I do not own the image. Found on google images.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “10 Things I Have Learned From Beauty + Makeup

  1. I wish I was on my on phone so I could put up all my emoticons. I could not agree with you more on every single one of these items in your list! Well put! And especially #10. I get so frustrated when people insult others based on what they did to their lips, their eyeshadow, their hair…. whatever it is. It’s like, there’s no right or wrong, it’s whatever makes the person feel happy! There’s no rules, it’s all about creativity and what you like to do! And we are lucky to have people who are willing to put themselves out there to inspire us. Everyone is beautiful in their own way (except evil people).

    I loved this post. I really did. Clapping my hands…

    Like

  2. Love this post and all the things you learned. You call it “youtubes” as well?! 🙂

    Like

  3. Love this post! Totally agree too. x

    Like

  4. #1 YES so true! I see real life people with contoured faces and I want to tell them, you know that your face is THREE DIMENSIONAL, right? I can see your contours! Contours is more for photograph and film in my opinion. And yes again for bronzering vs contouring – nothing irks me more than people who use bronzer (orange / terracotta) to contour, UGH.
    #3 YES, you skin is the biggest feature on your face, not your eyes, not your lips, your SKIN – make it flawless!
    #7 Truth!
    So much truth in this post – I don’t even have any to add, haha! 🙂 Great job!

    Like

Leave a comment