5 Tips for Becoming Healthier and Happier!

pewp

I know. I’m literally the worst at sticking to a schedule. But in my defense I started a new job this week and my boyfriend came back from a summer seminar at the Naval Academy so we’ve been hanging out a lot too. But alas. I am here today with a post for you!

I am tiny. Literally can’t break 100 pounds half the time. But this doesn’t necessarily mean I’m healthy or in shape. So I am setting a goal of being healthier and more in shape and im taking steps to reach my goal and I’m going to share both with you today! Here are my 5 tips for becoming healthier and happier!

1. Start a gentle workout regime. You don’t wanna immediately go to the gym 5 days a week doing squats with 100 pounds. Working out at home is just fine and can work just as well! If you don’t really know where to start with working out which was my issue, I use an app now called PumpUp. It’s basically instagram for people who workout but it also can formulate workouts for your needs and depending on what machines and other equipment you have around. Start with very simple things and work your way up to more intense work outs. Orrrr. If you aren’t really a “workout” person, find times in your day when you can incorporate more activity like taking the stairs instead of the elevator. Or doing wall sits while looking through social media on your phone. (I do this one. It makes it time pass quicker.)

2. Plans a few meals a week to ensure those are healthy. I know it’s hard to plan perfect meals every moment of every day and eating some microwave dinner or pickjng up fast food might look like the best option sometimes which is totally fine! But find ways to encorperate healthier things into your diet. I would be lying if I said my family cooked every meal and I’m super healthy because it just isn’t the truth. So lately Ive been trying to push us a little bit to opt for cooking things rather than microwaving or picking things up. It happens only like twice a week but it makes a difference!

3. Don’t be hard on yourself. You are starting something you are new to. It’s gonna be a hard and you’re gonna slip up, mess up, forget, not try your hardest, whatever. Its. Okay. This is about loving yourself more. Focus on that. Don’t be hard on yourself if you don’t see results because they take time. Just focus on loving who you are in your current form.

4. Find inspiration. Staying inspired helps me stay motivated. This is where PumpUp comes into play again because I can see others workouts and results and strive to reach my goals too.

5. Have fun. You are far more likely to stick with it if you are having fun. Don’t be too serious and just relax. You’re working to become healthier which is a good thing, so be happy, smile, and have fun!

Check me out on Instagram and Twitter!

With love, 

Michaela

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a comment